Inspiration · Life · Motivation

Not a Mum Blog

After my last few posts received a lot of positive feedback from my friends, Facebook friends and family…I decided to explore the blogging world further and see what other people were talking about. Needless to say I was overwhelmed…like the internet is flippin huge! I typed in a few tags to search such as Mormon and LDS because I am one. And I was expecting to find some uplifting messages but instead was shown a whole lot of anti-Mormon material that was intriguing with titles  like “Mormonism ruined my life” and “My terrible experience with the LDS church” and so on, but I refrained from diving into such topics because I knew it wouldn’t serve me any purpose.

So I moved on to googling some LDS bloggers and found a list of 18 Awesome Mormon Bloggers. They all looked amazing with a huge repertoire of blogs, pictures and DIY ideas, however I couldn’t help noticing that they were all about women with families and who had a lot to say about motherhood. Which is totally fine! I have nothing against that or those who are mothers with beautiful families and lots of advice about their everyday lives. But ultimately, my everyday life is different to family every day life and is that something worth reading about? It just made me wonder what could I possibly have to offer in an environment such as this blog because there are so many things that I’m NOT.

I’m not a mother.

I’m not a DIY crafty person.

I’m not a great cook.

I’m not a fitness freak.

I’m not a home renovator (because we don’t own a home yet)

… and that’s about all I could come up with.

What I am though is someone with something to say, someone who feels very deeply and finds joy in the written word/videos/photos. I don’t know who is going to see these posts or why people will read them, but regardless of the statistics, likes and views, this blog is important to me and that’s really all that matters 🙂

cropped-my-22nd-birthday.jpg

This blog feeds my creativity and as I reflect on things that happen in my life I hope it fills up my readers somehow (however many of you there are) in whatever way they need. So instead of feeling like I have nothing to offer, here’s what I know I am…

I am a hard worker, at my part-time job in retail, my University studies and my callings at church.

I am a musician (not professionally) but I have studied music for a good chunk of my life and it brings me much happiness, and Kieren proposed to me through song so #heartface ❤

I am a lover of buildings/aspiring Architect, of which the journey of my University degree has taught me much more than just how to draw and use Revit (I’m Better Because I Failed goes into more detail)

I am a wife, and together with my husband we are figuring out how to make our lives meaningful and humbly take each trial/challenge/whatever is thrown is us on the chin and working through it.

I am a daughter of God, and He has a plan for me and I trust in His ways and do my best to live a good life.

I am a sister to 3 half-brothers. 2 from my Dad’s first marriage and 1 from my Mum’s first marriage. But what even is half brother..they are my brothers full stop.

christmas-2016

So while there are so many things I am not, there are still so many things that I am that make me, Liv 😛 and that’s something I have to remind myself every now and then! I know that sometimes we look at other people’s lives and wish we had what they had or crave opportunities that haven’t happened for us. I do it too…it’s only human. But as I mentioned in my last post The Kid-less Couple …we are all different and on our own paths that make us all unique. If we were all the same, achieving the same goals at the same time than what a bleak world we would live in. Diversity is necessary and exciting. The unknown doesn’t have to be scary, there’s so many journeys for us to embark on that will help us become the people that we want to be, whether we see that straight away or not.

While this isn’t a “mum” blog, it’s still a blog… my blog, and that’s important to me and who knows what will end up on here! That’s the best part about it. I don’t know what else to add to my “About Me” section other than keep reading to find out 🙂

til next time…

– Liv xx

I also read this cool piece 15 Reasons I Think You Should Blog that was pretty compelling and inspirational and talks about how writing soothes the soul, which I totally agree with!

 

Leave a comment